You are never given the dog you want, but the dog you need.

Chewy Cheddar Puppy Puffs

After being run through the emotional wringer yesterday with starting to pen out Xeva’s story, I wanted to take a breath and post about a fun recipe that I found. Since Xeva is a cheese-a-holic and will do just about anything under the moon for a good piece of cheese, I thought this one would be appropriate.

It’s a really simple recipe and, as the creator says, it’s nice to know exactly what it in the treats that we give to our furry loves. I try to be as careful as I can with treats for the pups and make sure that there’s nothing scary in them, but you can never be sure with the prepackaged kinds. So, homemade is an easy way to go for that! The lighting in my kitchen was terrible when I made these, so ignore the pictures- one day I’ll redo them, but they smelled awesome and tasted great, if Traveler’s enthusiasm was any indication (I snuck a bite or two and could see why our little guy was so bouncy for them!). Xeva and big bad Bella are my next testers, and if I know those girls, these will be gone in a heartbeat!

This recipe yields about 24 cookies according to the recipe but you can always make them larger or smaller as you need to. I got about 20 out of them, which was perfect. (Warning: if you’re as unlucky as I always am, just use the pre-grated parmesan cheese. Saves from adding bits of yourself into the mix from grater mishaps…This happens every time and this recipe was no exception.) Try the recipe and let me know if your loves adore them as much as ours do and while you’re waiting for them to bake, pop over to Bitz and Giggles to thank her for such an awesome recipe and to ooh and aah over their adorable new puppy, Belle!

Ingredients:

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1/2 cup evaporated low fat milk

1 large egg

1 cup all purpose flour

 

Directions:

Heat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit

Mix all ingredients together until well combined

Drop by the teaspoonful onto a greased cookie sheet (silicone baking sheet works awesome here!)

Bake for 9-12 minutes or until golden

Remove from tray to cool and store in an airtight container.

 

Enjoy!

Leave some love!

