You are never given the dog you want, but the dog you need.

Remembering Those Who Went Before (and more)

Alright, alright… I know- I’ve been lazy.

No real reason this time other than the fact that it was nice to look at the computer and go, “You know what? I don’t feel like looking at a screen today.”

Sometimes, you just need that little break from the internet and I took one. It was nice, but I’m back now.

So, what have I been doing instead, you ask?

Well, I’ll be honest- the answer isn’t that exciting. Not even in the least. Unless you’re me, in which case it’s a little daunting.

In answer- I’ve been cleaning and getting ready to move back towards home, and writing. Now, you may be wondering- Why is this daunting? You write all the time. Why is this any different?

Well, first off- I’m glad you realized that the writing is the daunting part, not the cleaning. The cleaning is a breeze- I just get distracted easily, which is quite a hindrance to actually getting the cleaning done. As for why the writing is daunting… It’s not so much the writing that is so, more the creation that goes into it before I even write a single line of story.

I’ve got a pantheon to create that needs some tweaks still, I’ve got a cast of dozens to finish creating and manage, I have to plot out how I want this book to actually go- and decide how many it will span across- a world in and of itself to mold, laws and rules to create, the list goes on. It’s a whole lot to manage and make work in a sensible way. But, in its own way, it’s kind of exhilarating as well.

I’ve written stories before- heck, I’m working on a 100,000 + word one that has been going on since my sophomore year of college- but I’ve never really created one before. Normally, I don’t plan plots, I just mess around with the characters until there is some semblance of a story, but it’s mostly just for fun. Needless to say- it’s an eye opening experience.

But it goes. My characters are getting fleshed out, the world is starting to come to life, etc. It’s something I enjoy doing and hope to continue doing.

Now, this little update wouldn’t be complete without thanking an ever patient person though. So, a huge thank you to you, Blake Baker- for both your current words of wisdom and encouragement, and for all future events that I’m sure I’ll turn to you and ask, “Will this work, or even make sense?” You’ve been a wonderful help and incredibly patient. Even when we argue back and forth on points =]

Alright, that being done- next topic.

What dog breed sounds most interesting to you (even if you’ve never heard of it)-

  • Australian Kelpie
  • Glen of Imaal Terrier
  • Pattterdale Terrier (Black Fell Terrier)

Apparently, I’m on a terrier kick…Each of these breeds is fascinating in their own way, and as always, if there is a breed that you want to know more about, all you have to do is drop me a line and I’ll dig up some knowledge on it!

Really though, this is all I have for you today.

So, here’s to all of our veterans and current military officers/troops/staff. Thank you for all that you’ve done and all your hard work.

3 responses

  1. Tina

    good job, loved it as always…and I want to hear more of this Black Fell Terrier…..tell me more!!

    May 28, 2012 at 11:29 am

  2. Sara Henning

    I vote for the Kelpie, because well, I’m moving to Australia and want to know more about the awesome dogs that come from my new home
    Also loved your military dog pictures

    May 28, 2012 at 11:11 pm

Leave some love!

