You are never given the dog you want, but the dog you need.

A Well Guarded Secret

Alright, all you dog people out there who have active pals, this is something neat that I found yesterday.

Who out there has heard of Musher’s Secret?

While I’ve heard of products like the “Sticky Paws” that handlers use in the show ring to give their charges better grip during competition, I was never a fan- especially since it leaves behind a rather unpleasant residue on the floors. I certainly hadn’t heard of this one before though, so if you’re like me- here’s the scoop on this nifty little product.

Musher’s Secret is a 100% natural wax that you apply to your dog’s paws. From what I’ve read, it isn’t harmful to the dog in any way, you just apply it to their paws and it absorbs to protect them.

And before you guys start wondering, no, this isn’t a paid review, sponsored shout out, or anything of the sort. This is just me talking about a potential product I may purchase in the future. I thought the idea behind it was interesting and since I know I’m not the only one out there with active pups, I figured I might as well share it with you all.

And now back to the product.

It protects against a surprising number of conditions, actually. When I first read the name, I thought “Well, that’s fine and dandy for those people who have sled dogs or live where it’s really snowy.” But since I don’t get all that much snow back home, maybe a few inches at most, but no major snow drifts.

Still, I was intrigued and decided to read on.

While it does protect against what its name implies, it does much more than just snow. It protects against salt and chemicals, ice build ups, sand and sand burn, hot pavement, and rough ground (I would imagine roadways and hiking trails would apply in my case).

Personally, this is pretty fantastic for someone who has, and knows people with active lifestyles and active pets that tag along.

I remember that my mom’s Aussie, Bella, used to get laid up when her paws would crack after running miles on the road with her. I’m curious to know how well this would work, would it really keep her (and others) paws safe from cracking and from being injured?

One application lasts about a week unless your dog is highly active, and still, 2 or 3 times a week isn’t all that often. The product supposedly doesn’t stain your clothes or carpet, so that’s a bonus. I can’t imagine being pleased to find paw prints everywhere, so that’s one plus mark in my book.

All in all, it sounds like a great product. I’m curious enough to give it a shot in the future when I have my own pooches, but in the meantime…I may grab a tin and give it to some of the dog people that I know as a gift and see how well it does, or doesn’t, work. Personally, I hope it works because I would rather not see my future puppies hobbling around like Bella did until her foot healed up…

So, there you guys have it! If you think this is a potential product for you, just click on the picture down below and it’ll take you straight to the main site. You can browse around, see who sells it, read a bit more about it, etc.

On that note, I wish you all a happy Tuesday and hope you’ve got some sun peeking out at you! Don’t forget to do your FreeKibble for the day and I’ll see you back here tomorrow!

Leave some love!

