You are never given the dog you want, but the dog you need.

Sunday Reflections: What Drives You?

Yesterday was, understandably so, a little bit of an emotionally charged day for me. It had its ups and downs with the memories that it dredged up, but it was definitely one of those days where your emotions leave you with that “I’m tired of being…” kind of headache.

Do you know the one I’m talking about?

That nagging little throb that doesn’t quite go away, even after taking Tylenol.

Of course, my coffee consumption probably didn’t help either, but that was at night. Which, in retrospect, may not have been the best idea.

To all of you who read yesterday’s post and liked/commented on it, thank you. Even if you only skimmed it and didn’t say anything, I thank you. It means the world to me that I was able to share such a thing with you all and to open up about what is still a rather sensitive subject.

It was also something I read yesterday that inspired my writing for today. The question was simple, but got me thinking.

“Why do you write/blog, and what drives you to do so?”

That’s a rather thought provoking question when you stop and think about it.

What is it that makes me want to update and share stories with people that I may or may not know?

So, I sat here- staring at a blank screen- thinking.

And thinking.

And thinking some more.

What is it that makes me want to write, and why do I stick with it?

That question drove me crazy. Inner me and I had some serious debates over this. Finally, this I what I came up with:

I write because it heals me. It soothes me when nothing seems to be going right, when my world is in chaos- turned upside down and inside out- writing does more for me than downing a chocolate bar.

I write because I love the way I’m forced to think about all the crazy thoughts running through my brain. It makes me stop and think about what I’m writing and see it from an outsider’s view, rather than from the view of someone who already knows a little bit about the topic.

Writing, once I’ve begun, is like a drug. I hate being interrupted once I’ve started. I can get in a zone and just type or pen out stories, letters, random thought, for hours upon hours. It leaves me feeling tired, much like a good workout would. Except instead of being physically tired, I’m mentally worn out.

It gives me a sense of satisfaction when I finish a chapter of my story for my book or side stories. Heck, I’m happy if I even write out a few lines that I can spin the storyline off of. There’s just something very calming about allowing your mind to descend into that inner place where all your thoughts, ideas, and emotions are swirling around. When you weave those into print, being it electronic or on a notepad, you’re leaving a little bit of yourself there for the reader.

That is what I love.

I love that connection you can make with your reader. To be able to touch the emotions of another through your writing, where there are no physical tears, smiles, facial expression, or anything- that is something magical. That is what I strive to achieve when I write- to touch an emotion deep within you and maybe make you think about what I’m writing about. To look within your core and consider the same questions or thoughts. To share in the same joys and sorrows of my characters, or the tale that I share.

That is what I strive for.

Writing enables you to say all the words that you could never bring yourself to vocalize. To get all those pent up thought and words out of your mind and to keep from going insane from the daily stress of life. When things become overwhelming -even if you feel like you can’t talk to anyone about it- when you sit down and write about it- even if only to yourself- you are freed.

To thank those who you could never thank enough with spoken words. To spread your wings and become someone who you never thought you could be. To take that leap of faith into the unknown, hoping to find a solid place to stand in the uncertain darkness.

Writing enables you to do all this.

What do I want from my writings?

I’ve already touched on this a little- my main goal is to always speak to my readers and to make some sort of connection with them. I want to inspire them, to make them laugh and cry, to believe in something that they had lost faith in.

In regards to this blog, I want people to learn about the world of dogs- the different breeds, competitions, new stories, etc.

I want people to come away from it with a deeper understanding of something that they may have known little to nothing about prior to reading my posts. I want people to hear the stories of those who cannot tell them in their own words. To know of the injustices and miracles that happen every day in these animal’s lives.

While I would love to find a career in writing, job offers for that aren’t forthcoming very often and I’ve no idea where to look. I’ve no idea where I would fit and I’ve no idea if anyone would ever even read a book by me if I were to write one. But, it doesn’t prevent me from wanting to write one anyway.

I want a career in writing. I want to do what I love for a living. But, if that doesn’t become a reality, it will always be my passion. I could care less about the earnings that would come from it. It may sound corny, but simply knowing that there are people out there who enjoy reading my posts, articles, or books, would be more than enough for me.

Is that a strange view?

I feel like it is. But, it doesn’t make it any less true.

That being said- those are my reasons for writing, for blogging, and for staying with it.

So now I pose these questions to you:

Why do you write? Whether it be blogging, writing stories, articles, novels- published or unpublished- Why do you write?

What drives you to continue- even when it doesn’t seem like anyone is reading your words?

Don’t forget to do your FreeKibble for the day too! Have a great Sunday everyone (get out there and enjoy the sunshine! I know I will!)

4 responses

  1. Writing can be a spiritual journey. It is therapeutic, like what you stated: writing heals. I write because of that though I am not much of a writer. I am a better reader 🙂
    I enjoy reading this post. You’re a talented writer and I feel the passion, love in it.
    Looking forward to buying and reading your books! 😀

    March 25, 2012 at 4:16 pm

    • Mymissah- Thanks for stopping by! I’m glad you liked what you read 🙂 I think that with enough effort and dedication, anyone can be a great writer as long as you stick with it! Writing is definitely a healing experience. I’m glad to hear that there’s at least one person who thinks I’m doing a good job and would buy a book from me if I ever got published 🙂 Thanks again!
      -Anastasia

      March 25, 2012 at 7:33 pm

  2. It was like reading all my thoughts about writing and my blog. Well said. Nice to know others feel the same types of feelings. You write well. I hope writing will become a career for you. Thanks for sharing. 🙂 Sam

    March 25, 2012 at 8:27 pm

  3. Tina

    Very understandable, I totally understand you. And everyone needs something that makes them happy…makes them make sense of the world….and yours is perfectly understandably you.

    March 25, 2012 at 9:22 pm

Leave some love!

