You are never given the dog you want, but the dog you need.

Stormy Skies

I woke up this morning to the sound of howling winds outside of my apartment. Upon hearing them, I promptly sighed and burrowed deeper into my warm blankets, hoping that if I ignored them, they would go away.

Looking outside, I see dark grey skies and trees bending from the force of the winds, leaves skittering across the pavement like you would expect to see in the fall.

Yup, it’s Wednesday alright.

For some reason, this weather seems to fit the day. 50 mph winds and all… Despite my best efforts to ignore the gale outside, it persisted and I knew I had to get up and go to class.

Oh, and did I mention we’re supposed to get snow? Seriously? Snow. It’s almost March here Pullman weather. Get with the program. None of that snow in May craziness going on this year please.

As I threw things together for the day, making lunch for the boy and I, I started thinking about how odd it is that your whole outlook on a day can go downhill within moments of waking.

It’s rather odd isn’t it? When I went to bed last night, I was mentally making lists of everything that I had to do today. I planned on starting my Shakespeare letter, working on my research paper, braving our confusing library to find more books for said paper, doing class readings and writing up discussions for class, etc.

Now? Now I think I’ll be lucky if I even start my letter or go to the library. It has just turned into one of those days. I think of walking to class in this wind and just kind of sigh. Don’t worry, I’ll still be a good student and go, but I will have a rather grumpy look on my face as I do so.

Dear readers, have you ever had that kind of a morning or day? When one little thing happens and you just lose any and all motivation to do what you planned? How do you handle those days? Do you hunker down and push on through, or do you shrug and go “Meh, it can wait…”?

I know that for me, the answer varies on how important the task is and when the deadline is. Of course if I have something due the next day, I’m going to get it done. But if I have something that isn’t due for a week or more but I wanted to get an early start on it, chances are I’m going to seriously re-evaluate when I’m going to get started.

All of my displeasure at the weather aside, I hope that all of you out there are enjoying your Wednesday’s and are doing (or thinking of doing) something enjoyable and worthwhile. As usual, don’t forget to click that FreeKibble button in the sidebar to feed some hungry shelter animals!

2 responses

  1. Gusty this Wednesday as well. Yes, know the feeling.

    February 22, 2012 at 10:38 pm

  2. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

    May 22, 2013 at 12:41 am

Leave some love!

