You are never given the dog you want, but the dog you need.

Lazy Sunday

You know, it’s just one of those days. You know what kind I’m talking about-the days where you don’t really feel like doing anything even though you’ve got a ton of things you could be doing. Yeah, it’s one of those days.

To be fair, I am being somewhat productive. I’m watching Shakespeare films while I meander through the interwebs.

Now, don’t roll your eyes at me…It really is schoolwork. Well, the random browsing not so much, but the film watching is! And trust me, watching Lawrence Oliver play as King Lear, stumbling around drunkenly or Ian McKellan yelling at one of the servants and then slapping him pompously across the face is pretty amusing, all things considered. And don’t even get me started on Cleopatra. That film might be over 4 hours long, but it is amazing. Make up is a little over the top at times, but I just chalk that up to the director’s creative liberty.

Once I’ve decided what film to study, I get to write a mock letter to the editor of a fictional magazine and discuss how the films diverged from the original dramatic openings as written by Shakespeare, who did it better, why, etc. I’m not quite sure what play I want to focus on, but I do love King Lear. If you’ve never watched a performance of this play or read it, you need to put it on your to-do list! Same with reading Crime and Punishment and Sir Gawain and the Green Knight (hey, the fact that I was able to write a pretty fantastic 12 page research paper on the color green in Gawain still amazes me), but those are topics for another day when I feel like rambling about literature a little more.

I’m hoping I’ll get around to the rest of my schoolwork to-do’s today, but we’ll see. I have to find journal articles and books that will help me write my research paper on the burial rituals of the Paracas. They’re actually a fascinating culture, despite how morbid the topic sounds. But, I won’t bore/disturb you with my findings thus far (yet). Unless you want me to talk about said rituals, that is. No? Well, another day then.

So, as I browse Pinterest, watch Shakespeare and the various film adaptations of his plays, and think about my research paper, I find myself wondering- how are you spending your Sunday? Are you doing something productive or are you having a lazy day like me?

Leave some love!

