You are never given the dog you want, but the dog you need.

What’s your favorite dog breed?

I meant to include this in yesterday’s post, but as usual, I spaced. So, HAPPY FEBRUARY!!!

You’ve officially made it through the first month of the year. Congratulations! Now it’s time to actually force yourself to remember to write 2012 on everything (unless you’re like me and will continue to write 2011 randomly until March).

For today, I’ve decided that I’m going to do a bit of following up on my post from yesterday. I’ll be talking about one of the dog breeds that I’ve been in love with for years and hope to one day find a breeder for. I’ll also cover the exact reasons why I love this breed, the pros and cons (for me at least), and whatever else I find interesting and worthy of mention.

So, what is this wonderful breed you ask? Well, I’ll tell you. 🙂

The Finnish Spitz.

I am in love with this breed. Head over heels, I want to squeeze its fluffy self and never let go, kind of love. I’m aware that not many people may have heard of this breed, so here’s what a Finkie looks like.

Finnish Spitz

Beautiful, aren’t they? I love their smiling faces and the curiosity that shows through in those dark eyes. The only thing I don’t necessarily care for is the double coat, but that’s not a big deal. Half the dogs I grew up with had such coat, so it’s nothing new to me. Bring on the fluff puppies!

So, why do I love these guys so much?

Simple, they’re just wonderful dogs.

All in all, you couldn’t ask for a better family dog, other than maybe a Golden Retriever. They’re active dogs, which is perfect for me and they love to be around their people. They have the sweetest nature and all of the ones I’ve met at shows are some of the friendliest ones around. Which isn’t to say that I’m blind to the fact that they were socialized like crazy to be show dogs, because I do realize that.

Socializing isn’t an issue. Any dog I were to have in the future would get plenty of that from trips to the pet store, runs and walks, 4-H meetings, and any shows we went to. Socializing isn’t an issue. I expect them to be cautious around strangers. In fact, I would be worried if they weren’t. Growing up with Bella barking her fool head off at every leaf and car that drove by, or just because she was bored is something I’m used to. Silent greetings and acknowledgements are strange to me after that.

The downsides to this breed are the fact that it does have a double coat and that it was originally bred as a small game and bird hunting dog. However, as stated before, the coat isn’t a big deal as long as you’re willing to brush it out often and deal with the mess. No big deal, that’s what those giant garbage bags are good for holding right? I’ve filled those up with fur before from one dog…

As for the hunting genes, those are slightly problematic, but only if we didn’t raise the puppy and a cat together, or already have an adult cat when we got the puppy. I’ve found that as long as the cat is older or the two are raised together, there aren’t many issues that occur. My terrier loved our cats and would nibble on our youngest one’s paws when he was a kitten. Or at least until said kitten told him rather clearly that enough was enough. But there’s a tale for another day.

These are rather sensitive dogs and are known as a primitive breed. They have been domesticated, it’s just that their genetics are closer to their ancestors than most others. It’s not as though they’re a step away from wolves and the original domesticated dogs, it’s just that their genes haven’t been mixed with many other breeds in the creation of the breed. Still, they are amazingly sweet and intelligent dogs and are easily trainable with some dedication.

One of the features that I do adore though is their yodel. While it is a little obnoxious, I do love the energy that they put into it. It just makes me smile for some reason. Couldn’t really say why, but their yodel/bark is rather endearing.

If you are interested in this breed or want to learn more about it, this link here does a wonderful explanation of the breed and does kind of a run through of an owner’s manual for this breed. I love her Finkie’s enthusiasm later in the first video. So inquisitive and clever 🙂 You can also check out the breed info here.

So, there you go! This is one of the breeds that I love and would one day adore owning. There’s just something fantastic about this breed that I can’t help but be attracted to. If you’re interested in this breed, do your research. They are great family dogs and are wonderful with kids, but as with bringing any new companion into your home, you should still research it and make sure that it will be a good fit with you and your life.

Now that I’ve babbled on about my dream pup, what are some of yours? Are there any out there that you absolutely adore (even if you couldn’t feasibly own one and you just like the thought of them)? Post your thoughts in the comments and let me know!

2 responses

  1. Tina

    I would like to own a Wolf hound…..but alas I have researched this breed and know that this one would not work for me. While I would LOVE the adoration, companionship-both for running and home life, the outright protection factor there is no way anyone would come to harm me or my family…I do love my car just the way it is w/o holes eaten through the seats, the sunroof just as it is suppose to be, the yard too the way I want it to be-thus that is why I know this isn’t my dog breed. that is ok-I will stick with my Aussie and love her all the same!!

    February 4, 2012 at 5:12 pm

  2. My all time favorite breed would be: Golden Retriever.
    Like my Jack who is insanely friendly and totally patient with young children..giving endless sloppy kisses, they are the breed to beat…!

    @))–>>—–

    February 5, 2012 at 6:47 pm

Leave some love!

