You are never given the dog you want, but the dog you need.

By saving others, we save ourselves

As I draw to the end of my college career, I’ve had to begin thinking about what I want to do with my life afterwards. While a life as a successful writer would be wonderful, the reality of making it that far is rather daunting. As much as I adore writing and weaving together tales, I would have to work incredibly hard to be marketable. Not that I mind the hard work, never doubt that! It’s more just the fact that there is so much out there, it’s difficult to know where to begin. I would love to actually write novels, but then I have to consider the types. Do I want to be a fiction, non-fiction, sci-fy, romance, historical, teenage or children’s book kind of writer, do I want to stick with one category or broach into others as I progress? Or do I want to go into journalism, and if so, what kind? The choices are endless. At times, I feel like I’m in a boat just being flung around the ocean with no land in sight for miles.

The one thing I do know is this. No matter where life takes me, no matter what hardships I face in the coming months and years, the ups and downs, I want to do something meaningful with my life. So many people say that as they grow, but how many people end up doing something that gives them the feeling of satisfaction, of knowing that they’ve done something to better the life of another, human or animal?

I want to help rescue those poor souls that humankind treats so callously.

I will be a voice that challenges others in defense of those that cannot speak.

I will do all in my power to save at least one life so that they might find a better one.

Some people don’t understand my desire for this, and honestly, I can’t explain it any better than I could explain how to breath. It’s a part of me, it’s who I am. There is an innate desire in me to look at what has been done and help. I cannot look away from such injustice to those who can’t defend themselves from those who have the advantage. There are so few people who are willing to step up and do this, saying “It’s so hard to see,” or “I don’t have the time, but I want to do something,” or even still, “What difference could I even make?”

Yes, it is hard to face what is done each and every day. It’s hard to see the cruelties that are inflicted upon the helpless. But turning a blind eye won’t make it go away, all that does is shut out an issue that needs to be addressed. These cats, dogs, livestock…they need our help, whether they can ask for it or not. Whether it is hard to face or not, you can’t turn your gaze away from so much suffering. If time is an issue, donate. Donate leashes, collars, food, anything. You can even make pet beds if nothing else. One of those for a large dog takes as much time to ribbon the edges of two fleece pieces and tie them all together. That’s as simple as you can get, and it takes maybe half an hour.

And for those who’ve said to me, “What difference does it even make?” I’m always a little speechless for a moment. Sometimes, people genuinely don’t know. But sometimes, people really just are apathetic and couldn’t care less about what’s happening that doesn’t involve them. What difference does one person joining the effort make? It makes a huge difference. With the help of one person, it means that there’s one less animal out there suffering, one more that can be shown that not all people are bad. Once you’ve helped rescue or even care for a rescue animal at a shelter and see the gratitude, love, forgiveness, and hope that shines out of each of their eyes, you realize something soul shattering.

Within an animal is an infinite amount of love. There is no judging, only a desire to be loved and cared for. There is always a hope that can be seen in the most downtrodden that says, “I don’t know why I was treated like this. All I want is to be given a chance. A chance to be loved.”

These animals aren’t just being rescued.

They’re saving us as well.

Won’t you join me?

4 responses

  1. I love dogs too.

    P.S. Thats SOOOO cute!

    January 26, 2012 at 4:49 pm

    • Thanks! I thought it would be a sweet way to wrap up today’s post 🙂

      January 26, 2012 at 5:28 pm

  2. Very inciteful…

    January 29, 2012 at 8:55 am

  3. Nicole

    I once read this story on the internet, whether it’s true or not I don’t know;

    The was once a little boy walking on the beach at low tide. Sea stars were scattered everywhere, drying up in the hot sun. Every once In a while he would pick one up and throw it back into the sea. Seeing this, an old man came up to him and asked him what he was doing. “You can save them all, what difference does it make?” After contemplating his words, he picked one up and threw it back into the sea, and replied “It made a difference to that one.”

    The littlest things can make a difference, in action or in words.

    February 5, 2012 at 8:58 pm

Leave some love!

