You are never given the dog you want, but the dog you need.

A Little Food For Thought

At least  in the terms of quotes that should make you think. I love finding quotes that make me think, reconsider something, or ones that make me change my mind entirely about something. Yet, best of all, are the ones that touch that cord deep down inside and make you really think. Today, I’m going to share some of my new favorite quotes that have tugged on my own heartstrings.

Mankind’s true moral test, its fundamental test (which lies deeply buried from view), consists of its attitude towards those who are at its mercy: animals. And in this respect mankind has suffered a fundamental debacle, a debacle so fundamental that all others stem from it.

– Milan Kundera, The Unbearable Lightness of Being –

Sooner or later, every dog’s master’s memory becomes a graveyard; peopled by wistful little furry ghosts that creep back unbidden, at times, to a semblance of their olden lives.

– Albert Payson Terhune –

(This is perhaps one of the saddest, and yet most true that I’ve found to date. While not particularly thought provoking per se, it does stir a rather profound emotional reaction.)

Until one has loved an animal, a part of one’s soul remains unawakened.

– Anatole France –

The indifference, callousness and contempt that so many people exhibit toward animals is evil first because it results in great suffering in animals, and second because it results in an incalculably great impoverishment of the human spirit.

– Ashley Montagu –

How anyone can be cruel to such a sweet looking pup, I’ll never understand. Sure, they’re all so cute and fluffy as puppies, but that doesn’t really change as they grow older, does it? They each still retain a semblance of that that goofy, puppy-like spirit that we all love and hate in equal measure. In reality, that very fact is part of what makes being a dog owner so wonderful. Even with as old as my smooth fox is, he still has his silly moments. Every now and then, the dreaded spider fingers creep towards him and he’ll just eye my hands and lower his head, tail wiggling a little until I reach him and then he pounces! He chews on my hands gently for a few minutes as I grab at his feet lightly and he’ll growl and nip at my fingers for a little bit longer before running off and finding Bella. While he may not ‘play’ much anymore with toys and such, he still runs after them gamely, letting Bella retrieve them as he follows happily behind. So I have to ask, does a dog ever truly lose all of his puppy spirit? I don’t think so. At least, provided you still take the time to be silly and have fun with them once the needle sharp teeth have blunted and the energy levels return to a normal adult range.

Photo Source: http://www.myphotos.eu/photography-43_dogs_photo_black-white.html

Leave some love!

